New Employee at FRS

Here at Forces Recruitment Services North we have hired a new member to help Stewart Stirling along. Chris Baker has been with us for a few weeks and below is a bit of information about who he is and what he did before he started working at Forces Recruitment Services North Birmingham.

I joined the Royal Navy when I was 16 and spent 9 years touring the world on the grey funnel lines. On leaving the Navy I spent a number of years in engineering in a variety of roles such as refrigeration service engineer, car factory worker and finally Fabricator Welder. After being made redundant twice in one year, I decided to change tack and went to Wolverhampton University and gained an Applied Science degree in Physics & Electronics with a view to becoming a Primary School Teacher. Unfortunately I couldn’t afford a further year at Uni to do my PGCE.  I literally fell into recruitment when I was up a chimney cleaning it out for a friend when someone tapped me on my foot scaring me half to death as no one else was supposed to be there. It was my friends brother in law, “ I believe you are looking for work at the moment” he said, “ Ever thought about recruitment”. That was almost 15 years ago and I have been in Technical recruitment for the past fourteen and a half years. I had a short break from recruitment working at Maier UK Ltd and Argos (Barton), before joining Forces Recruitment in early March.

Chris Baker

We want to say a warm welcome to Chris; he’s a great asset to the team.

Leave a Reply

